2018 GTAS Annual Awards

Saturday the 2nd February saw the second annual GTAS Annual Awards Dinner take place to celebrate the Tasmanian gymnastics community by recognising the achievements of clubs and individuals around the state.

The dinner was well attended by club administrators, coaches, gymnasts, GTAS Board Members, GTAS Life Members and special guests. The Hon. Jacqui Petrusma MP. and Minister for Sport and Recreation was the special guest and opened the night with a welcome to all in attendance and congratulated Gymnastics Tasmania on a record 13th year of membership growth. 

Guest speaker Kitty Chiller, GA Chief Executive gave an address on her journey in sport and gymnastics. Touching on her personal experience in the sport and how it has helped shape her sporting memories.

Club Awards, Official Awards and Gymnast of the Year Awards were presented throughout the evening by special guests, GTAS Board Members and Life Members.

Congratulations to all the GTAS 2018 Award winners. The growth of gymnastics is in good hands!

2018 GTAS Annual Award Recipients


Club Promotion Award: Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Club Facility Development Award: Eastside Gymnastics Academy

Staff Engagement and Mentoring Award: Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Community Engagement Award: Launceston PCYC

Community Grants Award: Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Maureen Norris General Gymnastics Award: West Tamar Gymnastics


Bob Wherrett Award: Margaret Maui

GfA Coach of the Year: Karen Tucker

MAG Official of the Year: Samuel Whittle

WAG Official of the Year: Anke Moncur

RG Official of the Year: Dominic Mole

TRP Official of the Year: Jack Penny

Volunteer of the Year: Yolande Lincoln



MAG Gymnast of the Year: Harry Davies

WAG Gymnast of the Year: Eleanor Higginbotham

RG Gymnast of the Year: Clara Lewis

TRP Gymnast of the Year: Damien Axelsen