2017 GTAS Annual Awards

Saturday the 4th February saw the inaugural GTAS Annual Awards Dinner take place to celebrate the Tasmanian gymnastics community by recognising the achievements of clubs and individuals around the state.

The dinner was well attended by club administrators, coaches, gymnasts, GTAS Board Members, GTAS Life Members and special guests. Kitty Chiller, Gymnastics Australia CEO, opened the night with a welcome to all in attendance. The night followed on with Leigh Oswin, GTAS Board President, launching the 2018-2021 GTAS Strategic Plan.

Guest speaker Ben Cork, GfA National Commission Member, entertained the crowd with some thoughts on 20:20 Vision – A GfA Perspective!

Club Awards, Official Awards and Gymnast of the Year Awards were presented throughout the evening by special guests, GTAS Board Members and Life Members.

Congratulations to all the GTAS 2017 Award winners. The growth of gymnastics is in good hands!


2017 GTAS Annual Award Recipients


Club Promotion Award:
Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Highly Commended: Zodiacs Gymnastics Academy

Club Facility Development Award: Eastside Activity Centre

Staff Engagement and Mentoring Award: Kingborough Gymsports

Community Engagement Award: Eastside Activity Centre

Highly Commended: Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Community Grants Award: Kingborough Gymsports

Maureen Norris General Gymnastics Award: West Tamar Gymnastics

Highly Commended: Hobart Gymnastics Academy



Bob Wherrett Award: Alyssa Gardner

GfA Coach of the Year: Felicity Harvey

MAG Official of the Year: Lars Becker

WAG Official of the Year: Bridget Henwood

RG Official of the Year: Mardi Eaton

TRP Official of the Year: Ben Kelly

Volunteer of the Year: Ludmila Vitesnikova



MAG Gymnast of the Year: Oliver Dalco

WAG Gymnast of the Year: Grace Gaby

RG Gymnast of the Year: Angel Ashby

 TRP Gymnast of the Year:
Jack Penny